In addition to the Kids, Teens, Family events listed below, we also have two kid-friendly events on the speaker schedule.

Robin Stevens Murder Is Bad Manners the first in the Murder Most Unladylike series for readers ten and up, is the story of Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong, best friends who create a detective society—and then discover a murder at their school. Wednesday, October 26, 12-1pm., virtual REGISTER

Aida Salazar A Seed in the Sun is about a farm-working girl with big dreams. She meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for migrant workers’ rights in this tender-hearted middle-grade novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan. Friday, October 28, 12-1pm., virtual REGISTER
October 22, 10am-3pm, Saturday

Little Readers Rock @ Children's Library

LITTLE READERS ROCK at Hillary Rodham Clinton Children’s Library & Learning Center

AMFA ArtStart! Put your art goggles on with Liz McMath to engage your imagination as you examine the whimsical Toys Designed by Artists collection from the Arkansas Museum of Fine Arts, and discover How to Spot an Artist with the book by Danielle Krysa. Sponsored in part by Arkansas Museum of Fine Arts. Main floor, 10-10:30am
Children’s Library & Learning Center

AMFA Art Garden Harness the power of the sun to create unique designs on nature print paper, and be guided through creating an origami lotus flower for the Art Garden community installation, part of the grand opening celebrations at the newly renovated Arkansas Museum of Fine Arts. This is a drop in activity. The Lawn, 10-11:30am. Sponsored in part by Arkansas Museum of Fine Arts.
Children’s Library & Learning Center

Tommy Terrific See Little Rock’s favorite magician for kids. Theater, 10:30-11am  
Children’s Library & Learning Center

Lunch Grab and Go from the front desk and then participate in a simultaneous food fun downstairs led by Little Readers Rock Co-Chair Sarah A. Morris. Front Desk and Downstairs Activity Room, 11am-12pm
Children’s Library & Learning Center

Charly Palmer, The Legend of Gravity The award-winning author/illustrator who grew up playing streetball in Milwaukee makes a special visit.  He studied art and design at the American Academy of Art and the School of the Art Institute, both in Chicago. Sponsored in part by Clinton Presidential Center, Hearne Fine Art/Pyramid Art, Books & Custom Framing, Little Rock Central High School Tiger Foundation. Theater, 12pm
Children’s Library & Learning Center

Chinese Folk Tales & Fu Characters Ashley Wang, Co-Chair of Little Readers Rock will read an exciting Chinese Folk tale and then help students make a fun craft inspired by the tale. Downstairs Lab, 12:30pm
Children’s Library & Learning Center

Make your own Crayons Inspired by the Oliver Jeffers exhibition, staff from the Children’s Library and Learning Center teach kids to make crayons. Jeffers did the illustrations for the popular Crayon books. Downstairs Activity Room, 1pm
Children’s Library & Learning Center

Mask Making Don’t have a costume for the Costume Party & Parade? That’s ok! Build a mask here. Downstairs Lab, 1pm
Children’s Library & Learning Center

Costume Party & Parade  Calling all ghosts, princesses, cowboys, ballerinas, video game characters or anything your heart desires…come one and all for a spooktacular party and parade. Main Floor, 1:30-2:30pm
Children’s Library & Learning Center

mömandpöp To close the day, enjoy the boisterous concert by the energetic duo. Theater, 2:30-3pm
Children’s Library & Learning Center

Little Readers Rock will also have stations to play Go Fish, take a photo, and receive free books.

October 22, 4 - 5pm, Saturday

Teen Poetry Competition

Join us for an afternoon of poetry by young aspiring Central Arkansas poets.

FIRST PRIZE: $100
SECOND PRIZE: $50
HONORABLE MENTION: Gift Card
*To win, entrants must perform their work. However, if an entrant does not wish to perform, they may still enter their work to be included in the 2023 Six Bridges Book Festival Zine to be released at the event.

TO ENTER:
Email: teenpoetrycontest@cals.org
In person: Main Library, Fourth Floor
Fax: (501)375-7451 c/o Katherine Blake
Posted Mail: Katherine Blake c/o Level 4,
100 S. Rock St, Little Rock, AR 72201

All entries must be submitted by Monday, October 10th @ 6 p.m. to be considered for inclusion in the contest to be held on Saturday, October 22nd @ 4PM.

Poems can be original or credited. Entrants may enter more than one work.

Main Library, Darragh Center, 4-5 p.m.

October 29, 9am - 3pm, Saturday

Six Bridges Market

New in 2022, the Fest brings more family fun to downtown, with games, crafts, roving characters, music, and special appearances.

Saturday, Oct. 29, River Market Pavilions, 9am - 3pm