speaker-photo

Aida Salazar

A Seed In The Sun

Aida Salazar is an acclaimed arts activist, and translator. Her multiple award-winning middle-grade novels in verse include The Moon Within, Land of the Cranes, and her newest, A Seed in the Sun. She is author of the picture books In the Spirit of a Dream and the forthcoming Jovita Wore Pants: The Story of a Mexican Freedom Fighter. She is co-anthologist of the forthcoming Calling the Moon: 16 Period Stories from BIPOC Authors. She lives with her family of artists in a teal house in Oakland, California. 

A Seed in the Sun is about a farm-working girl with big dreams. She meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for migrant workers’ rights in this tender-hearted middle-grade novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan. 

October 28, 12 - 1pm, Friday

Speaker Schedule

Aida Salazar

A Seed in the Sun is about a farm-working girl with big dreams. She meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for migrant workers’ rights in this tender-hearted middle-grade novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan.

Noon-1 p.m., virtual

REGISTER